My new beginning

2013 is a new year. A shiny new year to begin a shiny new adventure. And 2013 has definitely started as a beautiful new start.

A year ago I was travelling around South East Asia, adoring the sunshine, the food, the seas and the lie-ins for nearly five months. My favourite part of the five and a half month adventure was the excitement for what the new day would bring and the slow pace of life where I was free to do as I pleased.

Lieing on the white beaches and swimming in the sparkly seas, I couldn’t imagine myself going home, to get a real job, to live a life of routine.

But here I am. A new year, a new job and new passions. I love waking up everyday knowing I have the life that I have. I still want to travel more and have exciting adventures, but for the moment my everyday life is an adventure.

I found a new focus in life. I have found Permaculture.

After months of hardwork I have found myself working at Permaculture Magazine. Some may think it was luck but I believe it was destiny.

The last couple of years I have found myself winding along a curious and interesting path towards environmentalism, looking after the planet and being green.

When I finally heard about Permaculture, I had a name to put to my new ways of thinking. I had something to investigate, to learn and to follow.

“Permaculture is an innovative framework for creating sustainable ways of living. It is a practical method of developing ecologically harmonious, efficient and productive systems that can be used by anyone, anywhere.” Permaculture Magazine.

But Permaculture is also commonsense. The three main aspects: People care, Earth care and Fair share are principles that people should incorporate into their lives whether they think of themselves as green and environmentally friendly or not.

Permaculture is commonsense because it gives a framework for efficiency, wasting less and re-using which should surely appeal to most people. It is for the money-savers, the allotmenteers, those who grow in pots on a windowsill and even farmers and whole countries agricultural systems.

It just makes sense.

Permaculture designs incorporate growing techniques that give high yield with a lot less effort. These techniques also take care of the soil, making it more nutritous to grow in but also preventing soil from degrading and releasing carbon into the atmosphere which adds to climate change. The designs also show companion planting and use different zones so that the food you use the most is grown closest to your living area. This enables us to live low carbo footprint lifestyles.

Learn more at www.permaculture.co.uk

PermacultuGetting the allotment ready for sewingre has given me a focus for the future which has begun with growing my own food.

My partner and myself found ourselves with an allotment  in November and we are all ready for spring to arrive and begin our new adventure.

Over the winter we cleared our beds, getting rid of a lot of annoying couch grass and weeds and planting some onions, shallots and garlic which have already started growing.

We are both incredibly excited to be growing our own food and cannot wait to watch all our little seeds peek through the soil. So the next step will be to begin sewing which will hopefully be over the next few weeks as spring arrives.

So now I just have to be patient and wait.

“Gardening requires lots of water – most of it in the form of perspiration.”  ~Lou Erickson

Leave a Reply

